What Stars Are Made Of

Born different, Libby knows that fate is a lottery. But to help her sister, she must strike a deal with the universe! Libby wants to be a scientist when she grows up, just like her hero, the underrated astronomer Cecilia Payne, who discovered the composition of stars. She’d also do anything for her family, in spite of the medical problems that she struggles with. So when her beloved big sister, Nonny, is in trouble, Libby comes up with the perfect plan to help her. And in the process, she’ll remind everyone what stars are made of…

  • A bold and moving debut from an extraordinary new author
  • A great choice for fans of Wonder, Short and Freak the Mighty
  • A tale of family, friendship and how it’s OK to be different
  • Brims with optimism and humour in spite of difficult themes

“All the primary characters shine in this impressive debut.” Booklist

“Allen, who herself has Turner’s syndrome, gracefully tackles heavy topics in her debut novel, including bullying and premature babies… A tender novel about love, loyalty, and finding yourself, this will win a place in many readers’ hearts.” School Library Journal

“A celebration of difference, a masterclass of empathy – just a massive warm hug of a book!” NetGalley review

Parent's info

  • RRP £6.99
  • Club price £6.80
  • Saving £0.19

Buy this book

Recent reviews

See all reviews

Who's reading this?

Authors

Rate this book

  1. loved it
  2. liked it
  3. okay
  4. not for me
  5. rubbish
Write about this book