Dancing the Charleston

Welcome to the glitzy 1920s! Dazzling balls, yummy banquets and dark secrets! In a little cottage on the edge of the grand Somerset Estate live Mona and her aunt, who is dressmaker to the lady of the house. Even though Mona never knew her parents, Aunty tries to give her the best life she can. But when Lady Somerset dies and a new family member inherits the house, there’s a rags-to-riches change in Mona’s life. Now she’s being invited to dazzling balls, dining on feasts, and dancing the night away with wild new friends. But with these changes come secrets that Mona can’t dance away from…

  • A sparkling historical tale of change and growing up
  • Perfect for fans of Hetty Feather and Wave Me Goodbye
  • The dazzling 1920s setting is full of glitz and glamour
  • Jacqueline Wilson OBE is a former Children’s Laureate

Recent reviews

See all reviews

Who's reading this?

Authors

  • Jacqueline wilson t 76

    Jacqueline Wilson

    Former Children’s Laureate Jacqueline Wilson is one of the UK’s best-known living children’s authors.

    Awards

    Jacqueline has won loads of awards, including the prestigious Children’s Laureate 2005-2007, two British Book Awards Children’s Books of the Year for Girls in Tears and The Illustrated Mum, and the Guardian prize for The Illustrated Mum. In a poll to find the Nation’s Favourite Children’s Book Double Act was voted 10th and was the only contemporary title in the top ten.

  • Nick sharratt t 64

    Nick Sharratt

    Nick Sharratt is one of the country’s favourite illustrators, with over 100 books to his name.

    Awards

    Nick has won numerous awards for his picture books, including the Sheffield Children’s Book Award for A Cheese and Tomato Spider and the Nottingham Children’s Book Award for Elephant Wellyphant.

Rate this book

  1. loved it
  2. liked it
  3. okay
  4. not for me
  5. rubbish
Write about this book