Ethan's Voice

How do you begin to tell your story when you can’t speak? A quirky and uplifting story about a mute boy rediscovering his voice, perfect for fans of Mark Haddon and David Almond.

Ethan lives on the canal with his mum and his books. He likes the canal. He can go to the pond and catch newts and minnows, and no one laughs at him because he doesn’t talk. He can’t remember when he stopped talking or why. He can barely even remember the sound of his own voice. This is just the way things are. And he likes them that way. Until he meets Polly, and his world turns upside down…

Recent reviews

  • I was dying to know what happened to Ethan, but the ending was disappointing.

    6 March 2014

  • A amazing book about a boy who has lost his voice. this book is sad and amazing

    18 February 2014

See all reviews

Authors

Rate this book

  1. loved it
  2. liked it
  3. okay
  4. not for me
  5. rubbish
Write about this book