Flamingo Boy

A stunning new story from a king of writers. Being autistic is tough in peacetime. What about in a war…? Maybe you think flamingos only live in exotic places. Actually, they also live in the salty swamps of the Camargue in France. The boy in this story has loved them since he was tiny – along with routine, and music, and riding the town carousel. But now war has come, and it’s all falling apart. The flamingos are being shot – falling broken to the ground. The town is overrun by Nazi soldiers. Even the precious carousel horses have been smashed. How will this kid cope with it all?

  • A moving, uplifting story of hope in a time of horror
  • EXCLUSIVE paperback just for Scholastic customers
  • Celebrates the power of friendship against all odds
  • Perfect for fans of War Horse and Private Peaceful

Recent reviews

See all reviews

Who's reading this?

Authors

  • Morpurgo t 55

    Michael Morpurgo

    Master storyteller Michael Morpurgo has written over 100 books for children, and has won a multitude of awards as well as serving as Children’s Laureate from 2003-2005.

    Awards

    Michael was the Children’s Laureate 2003-2005, and has won many awards including The Whitbread Prize For The Wreck of the Zanzibar, the Smarties prize for The Butterfly Lion the Blue Peter Award for Private Peaceful and the Red House award for Shadow.

Rate this book

  1. loved it
  2. liked it
  3. okay
  4. not for me
  5. rubbish
Write about this book