Our Castle by the Sea

Too big for Enid Blyton? Read this dreamy story of war, secrets, courage and life in a lighthouse. England is at war. For Pet, who has grown up in the lighthouse, the world is a place of storms, secret tunnels and sea monsters. But now the clifftops are a terrifying battleground, and her family is being torn apart. This is the story of a girl who is small, scared and unnoticed. A girl who freezes with fear when enemy planes rip through the skies. A girl fated to become part of the ancient legend of the Daughters of Stone. The question is: how?

  • A haunting, evocative novel by a rising star of fiction
  • Set on the south coast of England during World War Two
  • Fuses history and magic in a poignant coming-of-age tale
  • A great choice for fans of Emma Carroll and Hilary McKay
  • Lucy Strange also wrote The Secret of Nightingale Wood

“A poignant and uplifting tale packed with adventure, atmosphere and intriguing characters.” Mail on Sunday

“A thrilling Second World War story about belonging and betrayal.” Guardian

Recent reviews

See all reviews

Who's reading this?

We want to read this book

All people who want to read this

Authors

Rate this book

  1. loved it
  2. liked it
  3. okay
  4. not for me
  5. rubbish
Write about this book