Ruby Redfort #6: Blink and You Die

It’s all over for Ruby. Or is it? In this kickass finale, she’s on everyone’s wrong side. Folks want her dead. She’s on the run. Is it time to kiss life goodbye? Hey – get real, buster. Giving up isn’t even in Ruby’s lexicon! Ruby’s always been the cool one: the girl you can count on when the ice starts to crack. But now the ice really has cracked, and she’s plunging through into deadly cold water. Someone from Spectrum wants to kill her. They know her every move. Nowhere to run, no one to hide, nobody to trust. There’s only one thing Ruby can count on: the Count. Yup: Mr Evil is still at large – the one (totally murderous) person she can always depend on…

  • The final book in Lauren Child’s barnstorming series
  • Wisecracking sleuth Ruby Redfort is a true one-off
  • A cheeky send-up of the hardboiled detective genre
  • “Lauren Child is a publishing phenomenon” – Observer

Recent reviews

See all reviews

Who's reading this?


  • Photo of Lauren Child

    Lauren Child

    Lauren Child is the creator of the hugely popular, award-winning Charlie and Lola, Clarice Bean and Ruby Redfort books.


    Lauren Child has won the Nestle Smarties prize four times and the Kate Greenaway Prize for I Will Not Ever Eat a Tomato. Lauren has an MBE for Services to Literature, and in 2017 was named the Children’s Laureate 2017-19.

Rate this book

  1. loved it
  2. liked it
  3. okay
  4. not for me
  5. rubbish
Write about this book