The Explorer

Winner of the Costa Award! A glorious Amazon adventure by the author of Rooftoppers: massive snakes, ruined cities, deadly fun. From his seat in a tiny aeroplane, Fred watches the mysterious Amazon jungle pass by far below. He’s always dreamed of being an explorer. If only he could have a look! Then the plane crashes into the canopy. Suddenly, Fred’s dream is becoming way too real. He and the three other kids in the plane are still alive (so far), but the jungle is a huge and deadly wilderness. With no hope of rescue, their chance of survival is almost nil. Except, it seems, someone has been there before them…

  • A Costa Award winner by the author of Rooftoppers
  • Inspired by Eva Ibbotson’s Journey to the River Sea
  • For fans of Eva Ibbotson, Philip Pullman or Willard Price
  • High adventure full of courage, danger and wonder

“Katherine Rundell just gets better and better. I loved The Explorer. On one level it’s a very exciting adventure … but it’s also saying profound things about human nature and love and loss.’ Jacqueline Wilson

most of you loved this

Recent reviews

See all reviews

Who's reading this?

Authors

  • Awards

    Winner of the Blue Peter Award for Rooftoppers and the Costa Children’s Book of the Year for The Explorer.

Rate this book

  1. loved it
  2. liked it
  3. okay
  4. not for me
  5. rubbish
Write about this book