The Pearl in the Attic

A glorious Victorian mystery that links the past to the present day: seriously, what more could you want? When Scarlet’s gran goes into a retirement home, Scarlet offers to clear out her cramped flat above a shop in Crouch End, North London. Here Scarlet comes across a hidden treasure: a novel that Gran wrote, imagining the life of a long-ago girl who lived in the flat and worked in a cake shop downstairs. But as Scarlet reads about Ruby’s life in Victorian London, she realises this is no piece of fiction. Ruby was real! A real girl, facing real danger – leaving Scarlet with a real mystery to solve!

  • An addictive mystery by the author of Ally’s World
  • Over a million Karen McCombie books sold in the UK
  • Links past and present in a gorgeously imagined story
  • Ideal for fans of Katherine Woodfine and Emma Carroll

Recent reviews

See all reviews

Who's reading this?

Authors

  • Karen mccombie t 28

    Karen McCombie

    Karen McCombie is the brilliant, best-selling author of the Ally’s World and Stella Etc. series, plus a number of titles for teenagers.

Rate this book

  1. loved it
  2. liked it
  3. okay
  4. not for me
  5. rubbish
Write about this book