Photo of Darren Shan

Darren Shan

Darren Shan is author of two best-selling horror series: The Saga of Darren Shan, and The Demonata. He was born in London in 1972, but has lived in Ireland since the age of six. He began to write as a teenager, and initally had horror books for adults published.

His big breakthrough came in 2000 with the publication of his first children’s book, Cirque du Freak. The first of twelve books in the vampiric_Saga of Darren Shan_ it attracted a huge following. A film of the first three books is released in October 2009. His next project, The Demonata cemented his reputation as the master of children’s horror, and the episodic Zom_B soon followed.

Darren lives in Limerick with his girlfriend. He’s a huge film buff, loves to collect comic-art, supports Tottenham Hotspur – and is always thinking up new ways to terrify his readers!

Darren’s books have now been published in 31 languages, and have been best-sellers in countries as diverse as America, Hugnary and Taiwan, selling over 20 million copies worldwide!!!!

Books by Darren Shan

  • Allies of the Night

    Allies of the Night

  • Cirque du Freak

    Cirque du Freak

  • Hunters of the Dusk

    Hunters of the Dusk

  • Killers of the Dawn

    Killers of the Dawn

  • Lake of Souls

    Lake of Souls

  • Lord of the Shadows

    Lord of the Shadows

  • Sons of Destiny

    Sons of Destiny

  • The Thin Executioner

    The Thin Executioner

  • The Vampire Prince

    The Vampire Prince

  • The Vampire's Assistant

    The Vampire's Assistant

  • Trials of Death

    Trials of Death

  • Tunnels of Blood

    Tunnels of Blood

  • Vampire Mountain

    Vampire Mountain


Darren Shan’s awards include the Wyoming Soaring Eagle award for Cirque du Freak, and the Redbridge Teenage Book Award for Lord Loss.